"The governing body brings a wide range of skills and experience that are shared for the service of our school, representing all those with an interest in its success. We are committed to the school’s continuous improvement and in doing so play our part in ensuring every child gets the best possible education. By establishing effective governance we help to clarify the school’s vision and uphold the high expectations of everyone in the school community. Through working closely with staff, we help foster a welcoming, vibrant and inspirational place for children to enjoy learning, preparing them for the next stage of their education."

Dr Alec Bennett, Chair of Governors


In August 2014, High Littleton Church of England Primary School became an academy and joined the Midsomer Norton Schools Partnership. It remains a Church of England school and the Diocese of Bath and Wells supported the school’s academy conversion and desire to join Midsomer Norton Schools Partnership. High Littleton School continues to have its own Local Governing Body (LGB) and Headteacher.

Our school governors have a wide range of responsibilities. They help to raise the standards of pupil achievement and plan the school’s future direction. The Governors are also accountable for the performance of the school to parents and the wider community.

Composition of the Midsomer Norton Schools Partnership Local Governing Body

Parent Governors
Up to two parent governors, to be elected by the parents at that school or appointed by the governing body to represent the interests of the parents.

Director Appointed Governors
Up to four director appointed governors are appointed by the directors of the Midsomer Norton Schools Partnership (MNSP).

Foundation Governors
Up to two governors are appointed by the Diocese of Bath and Wells.

Community Governors
Up to two community governors being persons living or working in the local community of the school or such other persons having an interest in the school.

Staff Governors
Up to one staff member is elected by the staff of the school (excluding the Head teacher.)

The Headteacher currently sits on the school’s Local Governing Board.

High Littleton Governor Composition Table

Governor's Name Role
Dr Alec Bennett (Chair) Director Appointed Governor
Mr Mike Mantegna (Vice Chair) Community Governor
Mr Gareth Griffith Headteacher
Mr Ian Gunning Staff Governor
Mr Dave Howson  Director Appointed Governor
Mr Chris Wilford Director Appointed Governor
Miss Nicola Cunnington Director Appointed Governor
Mr William Gaskell Parent Governor
Mrs Vicky Mabbett Parent Governor
Vacancy Community Governor
Mrs Patricia Ladd Foundation Governor
Mr Tony Wells Foundation Governor
Mrs Natalie Platten Clerk to Governing Body

Contact Details:

Dr Alec Bennett – Chair of Governors
c/o High Littleton Church of England Primary School
Church Hill
High Littleton
BS39 6HF


Natalie Platten - Clerk to the Governors

c/o High Littleton Church of England Primary School
Church Hill
High Littleton
BS39 6HF



Becoming a Governor

If you are interested in serving the school and wider community as a governor, you will need to contact the school.

Parent Governors are elected by other parents at the school for a fixed term of 4 years. Parents are advised in writing when a vacancy for a Parent Governor arises. Full details of the criteria and the process for nominations and any election are provided at the time.

Foundation Governors are nominated by the Church and Diocese of Bath & Wells.

Local Authority Governors are nominated by Local Councillors.

Staff Governors are members of the School staff who are elected by the staffing body (both teaching and non-teaching).

Community Governors are appointed by the Governing Body to represent community interests or to bring specific skills to the Governing Body.

Governor Register

For information on attendance and terms of office please visit the MNSP Governance page here. 

Register of Business and Pecuniary Interest

To view the Register of Buiness and Pecuniary Interest, please click here.